72 Year-Old Khoza Returns PSL Chairmanship

72 Year-Old Khoza

72-Year-Old Khoza Returns PSL Chairmanship

Long time Premier Soccer League (PSL) steward, Irvin Khoza, returned his chairmanship post after having been voted in by the Board of Governance (BoG) at yesterday’s PSL Quadrennial General Meeting.

Yesterday Khoza extended his 18-year chairmanship stint by another four years courtesy of his one-man run to the post as he ran unopposed.

However, following his inauguration, the 72-year-old PSL steward took no time in bemoaning some of the current challenges that are being faced by most PSL clubs as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic.

“Clubs are really struggling especially with this virus-like Bidvest Wits had to sell its PSL status. Moreover, innovations that are coming in the space are affecting us and we are now looking at how we can sustain the livelihood of the clubs going into the future, people might end up not coming into the stadiums.

More so, the traditional media platforms are being affected they are now streaming services and these are some of the challenges that we are encountering because it affects the manner in which we generate income and incoming streams it’s now a survival of the fittest scenario,” said Khoza.

Furthermore, the chairman also acknowledged the need of having Video Assistant Refereeing (VAR) however, he said the enrollment of VAR was subject to the South Africa Football Association (SAFA).

“When it comes to VAR it’s an issue which is easy to mitigate because of the support we have. It’s a necessary technological innovation that enhances the game.

However, when it comes to VAR you have to look at infrastructure so it will only be enrolled after conducting the necessary exercise moreover, there has to be some risk assessment with its precise enrollment residing with SAFA,” added Khoza.

The other board members that were elected include club owners and senior executives of the following PSL clubs: Stanley Matthews (Supersport United), David Thidiela (Black Leopards), Rejoice Similane (Mamelodi Sundowns), Robert Benadie (Stellenbosch), Kaizer Motaung (Kaizer Chiefs), Mato Madlala (Lamontville Golden Arrows) and John Comitics (Cape Town City).


Other Stories You May Be Interested In:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.